Being an Artist in Capitalism 2

"In art, and only there, there seems to be a way to stay with oneself instead of being exposed to the constraints of capitalism, and at the same time to be able to be perceived in the world and also to be successful in a sense that follows capitalist logic." [Ralf Peters]

from Andre Erlen

In September, stimmfeld e.V. and the Free Trade Zone are organising a colloquium that poses the question of the role of the artist in capitalism. We will report on this in due course and present related and relevant topics.

Being Artist in Capitalism/Being Artist in Capitalism

A colloquium for artists of all disciplines on 17/18 September 2016 in Cologne

With the philosophers and artists Volkmar Mühleis and Ralf Peters and the systemic coach Georgia Hüls.
Direction and moderation: Ralf Peters
Free admission!

How can one
- survive as an artist in our global capitalist society,
- to pursue one's own artistic projects and hope for resonance
- and avoid becoming a victim of capitalist logic?

We want to offer a colloquium for artists to discuss these questions with each other - with the aim of gaining new clues for personal positioning in the thoroughly economised society.
In doing so, we assume that capitalism as a state of mind and as a system dominating society is currently simultaneously "in a state of defeat and its invincibility" (Jakob Augstein). At the same time, there is no longer an outside of capitalism! How can I as an artist act within this system without supporting the system within myself and in the world?
The colloquium will be held in German and English, depending on the participants.

Programme

With relatively short impulse lectures (by Volkmar Mühleis and Ralf Peters), discussions (in small groups and in plenary) and the use of self-questioning techniques (including systemic constellations, led by Georgia Hüls), we want to spend a weekend together discussing starting points for an artistic personal position-fixing in the conflict with the logic of capitalism.

We will use some theses by older and contemporary thinkers to stimulate joint reflection. The German philosopher Max Scheler, who formulated remarkable thoughts on the subject a good hundred years ago, will be an important starting point for the discussions. In addition, contemporaries such as Hans Abbing, Jacques Rancière, Christoph Bartmann, Hartmut Rosa and the critique of capitalism following Boltanski/Chiapello's book "The New Spirit of Capitalism", in which artist critique has a significant role, will have their say.

Times: Saturday from 10.30 a.m. to approx. 7.00 p.m., coming together in the evening.
Sunday, 10.00 a.m. to approx. 2.00 p.m.
Venue: Free Trade Zone, Krefelder Straße 71, 50670 Cologne, Germany
Admission: free! Registration requested at kontakt@stimmfeld-verein.de

Lectures:
1. Ralf Peters:
a) Introduction - Artists in Capitalism: the last hundred years!
b) The four infantile ideals of capitalism and other useful thoughts by Max Scheler.

2 Volkmar Mühleis: "Originality = Competition? Artistic and capitalist principles in comparison - and what you can do yourself".

Promotion
With the kind support of the German Society for Aesthetics e.V.

More information here:

www.stimmfeld-verein.de
www.freihandelszone.org

Tags: germany / performance

Write a comment

Please enter the Comment Send Security Number *

Künstler sein im Kapitalismus 2

»In der Kunst und nur dort scheint sich ein Weg zu zeigen, bei sich zu bleiben statt den Zwängen des Kapitalismus ausgesetzt zu sein, und zugleich in der Welt wahrgenommen werden zu können und auch in einem der kapitalistischen Logik folgenden Sinn erfolgreich zu sein.« [Ralf Peters]

von Andre Erlen

Im September veranstalten stimmfeld e.V. und die Freihandelszone ein Kolloquium, dass die Frage nach der Rolle des Künstlers im Kapitalismus stellt. Darüber werden wir zeitnah berichten und verwante und relevante Themen vorstellen.

Künstler sein im Kapitalismus/Being Artist in Capitalism

Ein Kolloquium für Kunstschaffende aller Sparten am 17./18. September 2016 in Köln

Mit den Philosophen und Künstlern Volkmar Mühleis und Ralf Peters und der systemischen Coach Georgia Hüls
Leitung und Moderation: Ralf Peters
Eintritt frei!

Wie kann man
– in unserer global kapitalistischen Gesellschaft als KünstlerIn (über-)leben,
– die eigenen künstlerischen Projekte verfolgen und auf Resonanz hoffen
– und vermeiden, dabei zum Opfer der kapitalistischen Logik zu werden?

Wir wollen für Künstlerinnen und Künstler ein Kolloquium anbieten, um diese Fragen miteinander zu besprechen – mit dem Ziel, neue Anhaltspunkte für die persönliche Positionierung in der durchökonomisierten Gesellschaft zu gewinnen.
Dabei gehen wir davon aus, dass sich der Kapitalismus als Geisteshaltung und als gesellschaftsdominierendes System gegenwärtig gleichzeitig „im Zustand der Niederlage und seiner Unbesiegbarkeit“ (Jakob Augstein) befindet. Zugleich gibt es kein Außerhalb des Kapitalismus mehr! Wie kann ich als KünstlerIn innerhalb dieses Systems agieren, ohne das System in mir selbst und in der Welt zu unterstützen?
Das Kolloquium wird je nach Teilnehmenden in deutsch und englisch stattfinden.

Programm

Wir wollen mit relativ kurzen Impulsvorträgen (von Volkmar Mühleis und Ralf Peters), Diskussionen (in Kleingruppen und im Plenum) und dem Einsatz von Selbstbefragungstechniken (u.a. systemischen Aufstellungen, geleitet von Georgia Hüls) ein Wochenende lang gemeinsam Ansatzpunkte erörtern für eine künstlerische persönliche Standortbestimmung im Konflikt mit der Logik des Kapitalismus.

Einige Thesen von älteren und zeitgenössischen Denkern werden wir nutzen, um das gemeinsame Nachdenken anzuregen. Der deutsche Philosoph Max Scheler, der vor gut hundert Jahren zu dem Thema bemerkenswerte Gedanken formuliert hat, wird eine wichtiger Ausgangspunkt für die Gespräche darstellen. Außerdem kommen Zeitgenossen wie Hans Abbing, Jacques Rancière, Christoph Bartmann, Hartmut Rosa und die Kapitalismuskritik im Anschluss an Boltanski/Chiapellos Buch „Der neue Geist des Kapitalismus“, in dem die Künstlerkritik eine bedeutende Rolle inne hat, zu Wort.

Zeiten: Samstag ab 10.30 Uhr bis ca. 19.00 Uhr, abends coming together
Sonntag, 10.00 Uhr bis ca. 14.00 Uhr
Ort: Freihandelszone, Krefelder Straße 71, 50670 Köln
Eintritt: frei! Anmeldung erbeten unter kontakt@stimmfeld-verein.de

Vorträge:
1. Ralf Peters:
a) Einführung – Künstler im Kapitalismus: die letzten hundert Jahre!
b) die vier infantilen Ideale des Kapitalismus und andere nützliche Gedanken von Max Scheler

2. Volkmar Mühleis: „Originalität = Konkurrenz? Künstlerische und kapitalistische Prinzipien im Vergleich – und was man selbst tun kann“

Förderung
Mit freundlicher Förderung der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Ästhetik e.V.

Weitere Informationen hier:

www.stimmfeld-verein.de
www.freihandelszone.org

Schlagwörter: Deutschland / Performance

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Alles Pflichfelder, Ihre E-Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht

Die Kommentar abschick Sicherheits- Zahl Bitte eingeben *