One night in Afghanistan

a theatrical camp from Futur3.

Since December 2001, Germany has continuously been one of the largest troop contributors in Afghanistan.The international military mission in Afghanistan is supposed to create a secure environment and enable the reconstruction of democracy. But German military policy must fundamentally redefine itself and the Bundeswehr in view of this deployment! Futur3 takes up this urgently needed discussion about the military as a means of politics artistically and debates it publicly.

"
"Soldier 1:
You must learn to trust your instincts.
This is not a game.
But this is not war either.
After all, it is an armed conflict.
If it were a war,
we wouldn't have to separate rubbish.
That's what we're really doing there!"

K. Fehling, from "A Night in Afghanistan

Photos + Video

Futur3_Afghanistan4
EWE_2311
Futur3_Afghanistan1
EWE_2279
EWE_2334
EWE_1912
EWE_2196
IMG_3556
EWE_1779
EWE_2090

We report directly from the area of tension between Kabul and Berlin, heroism and post-traumatic stress disorder, between anti-personnel mines and waste separation. Field mail, video diaries, combat reports and everyday barracks life serve as material for this very special mission. Who is a friend, who is an enemy? At what point does it have to be called war? And how does a war that should not be a war change the more than 6,000 German soldiers currently deployed abroad? The mission is delicate and the viewer stands as a comrade somewhere between reality and the decisions we will have to make.

"A Night in Afghanistan" is a theatre performance in a military setting that uses four actors, video projections and live sounds to confront the audience with the torn relationship of Germans to their army and thus to the existential questions of defence, peace and war, using the example of the Bundeswehr's mission in Afghanistan. Futur3 wants to get to the heart of the audience in the case of Afghanistan, because there can only be clear answers to this question.

Dates

Premiere: 04.11.2010 - 8:00 p.m.
Venue: Former officers' mess of the Belgian army in Germany, Cologne-Junkersdorf

Cast

Performers: Anja Jazeschann, Pietro Micci, Stefan H. Kraft, Bernd Rehse, Klaus Maria Zehe Artistic direction: André Erlen, Stefan H. Kraft Director: André Erlen Assistant Director: Madelaine Reiner Dramaturgy: Klaus Fehling, Sandra Nuy Texts: Klaus Fehling and ensemble Production Management: Rut Profe-Bracht, Armin Leoni Stage Design and Set: Petra Maria Wirth Assistant Set and Production: Kaja Manenbach Assistant Set Designer: Karoline Hafner Lighting: Boris Kahnert Music: Marc Appart Video: Lars Jan


© A production by Futur3 - freies Theaterkollektiv Köln in cooperation with Freihandelszone - Ensemblenetzwerk Köln

Press commentary

"Futur 3 achieves a small feat with this evening: to report on the situation of soldiers in Afghanistan, to immerse oneself in camp life in a foreign country without falling into clichés or evoking embarrassment."

Karolina Bendig, Culture Extra

"With haunting actors and detailed sets (Petra Maria Wirth), director André Erlen creates an authentic atmosphere - as if you had stepped into a war film. The realistic impression, however, is cleverly contrasted with sound effects, video game sequences and choreographies that take the politicians' empty words to absurdity. This artful handling of the subject is convincing, captivating and thought-provoking."

Jessica Düster, Kölner Stadtanzeiger

"Distressing moments like this, but also banalities and funny scenes with gruff military humour - the Futur 3 ensemble succeeds in creating an authentic atmosphere with haunting acting and detailed set design (...) A convincing artistic approach to the explosive topic of war in Afghanistan. Highly topical, rousing and thought-provoking."

WDR5 Scala

Funded by:
Kunststiftung NRW | Ministry for Family, Children, Youth, Culture and Sport of the State of NRW | Cultural Office of the City of Cologne | Performing Arts Fund | RheinEnergieStiftung Kultur

Tags: germany / politics

Eine Nacht in Afghanistan

ein theatrales Lager von Futur3.

Seit Dezember 2001 gehört Deutschland kontinuierlich zu den größten Truppenstellern in Afghanistan.Der internationale Militäreinsatz in Afghanistan soll ein sicheres Umfeld schaffen und den Wiederaufbau der Demokratie ermöglichen. Doch die deutsche Militärpolitik muss sich und die Bundeswehr angesichts dieses Einsatzes grundlegend neu definieren! Futur3 greift diese dringlich erforderliche Diskussion um das Militärische als Mittel der Politik künstlerisch auf und debattiert öffentlich.

Wir berichten direkt aus dem Spannungsgebiet zwischen Kabul und Berlin, Heldentum und posttraumatischer Belastungsstörung, zwischen Tretminen und Mülltrennung. Als Material für diesen ganz besonderen Einsatz dienen Feldpost, Videotagebücher, Gefechtsberichte und der Kasernenalltag. Wer ist Freund, wer ist Feind? Ab wann muss es Krieg heißen? Und wie verändert ein Krieg, der keiner sein darf, die derzeit über 6000 deutschen SoldatInnen im Auslandseinsatz? Die Mission ist heikel und der Zuschauer steht als Kamerad irgendwo zwischen der Wirklichkeit und den Entscheidungen, die wir treffen werden müssen.

„Eine Nacht in Afghanistan“ ist eine Theaterperformance in einem militärischen Setting, die mit vier Schauspielern, Videoprojektionen und Live-Sounds am Beispiel des Afghanistan-Einsatzes der Bundeswehr die Zuschauer mit dem zerrissenen Verhältnis der Deutschen zu ihrer Armee und damit zu den existenziellen Fragen von Verteidigung, Frieden und Krieg konfrontiert. Futur3 will dem Zuschauer im Fall Afghanistan auf den Zahn fühlen, denn in dieser Frage kann es nur klare Antworten geben.


„Soldat 1:
Du musst lernen deinen Instinkten zu vertrauen.
Das ist kein Spiel.
Das ist aber auch kein Krieg.
Immerhin ist es ein bewaffneter Konflikt.
Wenn es ein Krieg wäre,
müssten wir keinen Müll trennen.
Das tun wir da wirklich!“

K. Fehling, aus »Eine Nacht in Afghanistan«

Termine

Uraufführung: 04.11.2010 – 20:00 Uhr
Ort: Ehemaliges Offizierskasino der belgischen Armee in Deutschland, Köln-Junkersdorf

Besetzung

Performer: Anja Jazeschann, Pietro Micci, Stefan H. Kraft, Bernd Rehse, Klaus Maria Zehe Künstlerische Leitung: André Erlen, Stefan H. Kraft Regie: André Erlen Regieassistenz: Madelaine Reiner Dramaturgie: Klaus Fehling, Sandra Nuy Texte: Klaus Fehling und Ensemble Produktionsleitung: Rut Profe-Bracht, Armin Leoni Bühnenbild und Ausstattung: Petra Maria Wirth Assistenz Ausstattung und Produktion: Kaja Manenbach Ausstattungshospitanz: Karoline Hafner Licht: Boris Kahnert Musik: Marc Appart Video: Lars Jan


© Eine Produktion von Futur3 – freies Theaterkollektiv Köln in Zusammenarbeit mit Freihandelszone – Ensemblenetzwerk Köln

Pressestimmen

„Futur 3 gelingt mit diesem Abend ein kleines Kunststück: über die Situation der Soldaten in Afghanistan zu berichten, in das Lagerleben in der Fremde einzutauchen, ohne in Klischees zu verfallen oder peinliche Betroffenheit hervorzurufen.“

Karolina Bendig, Kultur Extra

„Mit eindringlich agierenden Darstellern und detailreicher Ausstattung (Petra Maria Wirth) kreiert Regisseur André Erlen eine authentische Atmosphäre – als sei man in einen Kriegsfilm geraten. Die realistische Anmutung wird jedoch klug kontrastiert mit Soundeffekten, Videospielsequenzen und Choreografien, die die Wordhülsen der Politiker ad absurdum führen. Dieser kunstvolle Umgang mit dem Thema überzeugt, reißt mit und regt zum Nachdenken an.“

Jessica Düster, Kölner Stadtanzeiger

„Beklemmende Momente wie dieser, aber auch Banalitäten und komische Szenen mit ruppigem Militärhumor – dem Ensemble Futur 3 gelingt es mit eindringlichem Spiel und detailreicher Ausstattung, eine authentische Atmosphäre zu kreieren (…) Ein überzeugender künstlerischer Umgang mit dem brisanten Thema Krieg in Afghanistan. Hochaktuell, mitreißend und nachdenklich stimmend.“

WDR5 Scala

Gefördert durch:
Kunststiftung NRW | Ministerium für Familie, Kinder, Jugend, Kultur und Sport des Landes NRW | Kulturamt der Stadt Köln | Fonds Darstellende Künste | RheinEnergieStiftung Kultur

Schlagwörter: Deutschland / Politik